29th June 2015: きゃりーぱみゅぱみゅ – PonPonPon

Kyary Pamyu Pamyu – PonPonPon

Language – Japanese

I have put this song up today for your consideration.  J-pop is a huge phenomenon in Japan, and I suppose I wanted to try and understand what it is that makes it such a popular music genre.  There is a strange human / anime crossover that is quite fascinating.  This song from 2011 is catchy and poppy and repetitive in a cutesy way, but it is the video that I find most interesting.  The relentless bombardment of imagery, most of which is decidedly odd!  I am getting John Waters and The Residents and a hint of Carmen Miranda…I am not sure whether I should just embrace its fabulous over-the-top-ness or whether I should genuinely fear for the youth of Japan.  Probably best that you don’t watch this just before you go to bed…but it’s brilliant!

kyary.asobisystem.com  / @kyarystaffy  /  @pamyurin

2 thoughts on “29th June 2015: きゃりーぱみゅぱみゅ – PonPonPon

Leave a comment