10th April 2017: Emir Kusturica & The No Smoking Orchestra – Djinji Rinji Bubamara

Emir Kusturica & The No Smoking Orchestra – Djinji Rinji Bubamara
Language – Romani
Translation – Ladybird (Bubamara = ladybird)

Note to self: write my blog before I make my dinner, before I eat, before I try and watch ‘Broadchurch’, before I fall asleep on the sofa. Apologies for the slight lateness – will I ever learn?

According to the wise people who have written notes under this video on YouTube, this song is sung in Romani – there are lyrics in English and Romani under the video too.  Emir Kusturica is Serbian, and I believe Romani has several different versions in various countries across Europe, so this might be Balkan Romani – see here: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Romani_language.  From the film ‘Crna Macka Beli Makor’ (Black Cat, White Cat) by Emir Kusturica, who, as well as being a musician in this band, is also a film director.  On the album ‘Unza Unza Time’ from 2000.

Website: http://www.thenosmokingorchestra.com/

Leave a Reply

