14th February: Alida Hisku – Vajzat e fshatit tim

Alida Hisku – Vajzat e fshatit tim
Language – Albanian
Translation – The girls of my village

My poor knowledge of the Albanian language is helped out here somewhat by the accompanying flim, which shows exactly how wonderfully capable the girls of her village are.  I found some of the lyrics, which translate (using trusty Google Translate) as:

Wind between the field-o
Among the mountain wind-o-o
Increase maidens love
For boys of the village-o

I often wish I had the necessary time to properly translate and analyse the lyrics of the songs I choose for my blog.  I am guessing a spirit of togetherness and working for a communal aim, whatever the task, feature highly in this song.  I would recommend that you read the information about Alida Hisku on Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alida_Hisku) – she has a fascinating background.

Leave a Reply

