11th August 2015: Hiran’ny Tanoran’ny Ntao Lo – Oay Lahy É

Language – Malagasy

Translation – O! dear friend

One of my work colleagues was asking about my blog today, so I explained a little.  She said, ‘So, if I name a country, could you find a track?’.  I said sure.  She decided on Madagascar, and this beautiful song is what I found.  It is from an album called ‘The Music Of Madagascar (Classic Traditional Recordings Of The 1930s)’, which is a collection of 78s from that decade, and this track is rather lovely. Werner Herzog used it in his documentary “Little Dieter Needs to Fly”, and if it’s good enough for Werner Herzog, it’s good enough for me…

Leave a Reply

