Record Collection Week – Day 6: 20th June 2015: Jorge Ben – Pulo Pulo

Language – Brazilian Portuguese

Translation – Leap, leap (maybe jump, jump?)

I am not quite sure what was in the water in Brazil in the late 60s and early 70s, but there were a staggering amount of fabulous acts at that time (ok, yes, many were politically motivated, I do know that…).  Jorge Ben is just one, and I love this track.  The way that this song has been put together seems to be almost effortless, and I may have mentioned this before but that level of ease and apparent simplicity seems to apply to so many other tracks from that era.  This songs just makes me want to dance every time I hear it.  Or jump, lol!  Also, full marks to Jorge Ben for eating a lovely big apple on the cover of this album.  That’s what I call a good role model!

jorgebenjor.com.br   /   @jorgebenjor

image

Leave a Reply

