5th May 2015: The Weavers – Suliram

Language – Indonesian

Translation – Lullaby

The Weavers – everyone’s favourite Communists!  I remember the excitement in my household when The Weavers Greatest Hits album finally arrived.  If I remember correctly, it had been banned in America for a number of years due to the fact The Weavers had been blacklisted during the McCarthy era.  My dad played it to death.  We knew all the words, lol. This song is really lovely, and I can’t put into words quite how much I respect Pete Seeger and his music, his support for the civil rights movement, and his social activism.  He is greatly missed.

http://peteseeger.net/wp/

Leave a Reply

