8th April 2015: Mono Mono – Ema Kowa Iasa Ile Wa

Language – Yoruba

Translation – underneath the video someone has put the meaning as ‘You can’t teach us our culture’.  Which is a pretty powerful comment…

This is brilliant.  It is sometimes baffling for me to think about the musical knowledge I have acquired over the years, then realising that I don’t really know anything about music around the world.  For every band I have seen in a sweaty club somewhere, or at a music festival, or listened to on a mix-tape, there are hundreds of other artists in other countries doing their own, non-Western-related thing.  Maybe even secretly, because they don’t have the same freedom to express themselves as I do.  Now I have made the decision to enthusiastically ‘jump in’ to the world of foreign language music, and due to the fact I am infinitely curious, I just want to learn more.  I am thankful that there are people out there compiling albums that make it easy for me to listen to, in this case, Nigerian music.  But, having heard this song, I want to make my own journey to Nigeria to discover more about this band.  To be honest, I want to do that with every track I put up on this blog.  It would seem there are not enough hours in the day!

http://www.soundwayrecords.com/       https://twitter.com/Soundway

Leave a Reply

