2nd April 2015: Orchestre Poly-Rythmo de Cotonou – Gbeti Madjro

Language – Apparently, this language is Fon.  Cotonou is in Benin, and the official language there is French, and they also speak Fon, Mina, Aja or Yoruba.

Translation – It is not destiny’s will

I was all set to post this on Thursday night, then I fell asleep watching ‘Donnie Brasco’, and I was busy yesterday, and, well, yes, these are feeble excuses, I know.  I must apologise for my slackness, and I promise to do better in the future.

So, hey, I have posted some rather fantastic Afrobeat!  I love the key changes in this tune.  And there is some top drumming.  Also, importantly, it is supremely danceable, which is what you need for an Easter weekend. You just have to feel some music…

This track is from the compilation “African Scream Contest”,  released on Analog Africa Records. You can get newsletters from them here: http://www.analogafrica.com/

Fantastic blog here that has information about the compilation album this track is from – well worth a read:  http://afrobeat-music.blogspot.com.br/2009/09/african-scream-contest-raw-psychedelic.html

@AnalogAfrica

Leave a Reply

