31st March 2015: Tony Light – Laat Me Gaan

Language – Dutch

Translation – Let Me Go

I love this tune! OK, yes, it bears more than a passing resemblance to ‘Needles and Pins’ by The Searchers at the beginning, but it develops into something more, which is most enjoyable (especially the piano section).  I am still coming to terms with the Dutch language in song form. It is quite harsh, but I think I am getting used to it!  In this song, especially, I think the vocals combine well with the scratchy guitar. I think languages are so exciting, how they have ended up like they are after years of being altered and changed and improved by people, and how they are constantly changing. It is like puzzle solving sometimes, and when words in different languages are similar, well, I find that so interesting. But I’m a nerd, not a linguist. What do I know, lol? Enjoy the tune!

Leave a Reply

