5th February 2015: Los Javaloyas – Mágicos colores

Language – Spanish

Translation – Magic colours

I am a total sucker for harmony vocals. Especially if sung by men in suits and ties with beautifully side-swept neat hair.  This video interested me because I liked the song and the attire of the group, but also for a few other reasons.  Firstly, the elephant in the room.  Well, it quite clearly isn’t an elephant, but that was about as far as I could narrow it down.  What IS that thing in the studio?  Was it built for a huge bell that someone forgot to attach?  Is it some form of torture implement?  Is it the ‘next feature’ in a programme that we shall never see the end of?  I would be interested to hear what you think, dear readers.

I was also intrigued by the band etiquette during this song.  They were all happy enough, playing and singing, but there was a distinct awkwardness during the strings breakdown.  The bass player struggled on manfully, but I think the rest of the band felt slightly uncomfortable with this part of the song, when there clearly was no string section in the studio that we could see.  Forbid me for suggesting they may have been miming…

Just one more thing (as one of my favourite TV detectives might say). This is something I just have to ask.  Why, when people are in a TV studio, is there that border that comes up from the ground for about a foot in length, and is usually a similar colour to the floor?  When I was a kid and I watched Blue Peter or Play Away or something similar, this was a feature that I always wondered about.  Is it to hide cables?  I just don’t know.  It reminds me of a circus ring.  Hmm.  This may explain the strange giant object…

Leave a Reply

