SO, WHY THE INTEREST IN FOREIGN MUSIC?

Music makes my life better.  There is no doubting that.  Having a song that I can listen to whatever mood I am in is an unbeatable feeling. Listening to music, either to cheer myself up, or to wallow in a grumpy mood, or to get ready for a party, or just to have on as background noise, is just wonderful.

So, what is it about foreign language music?  I have always had an interest in languages since studying them at school.  I like travelling.  And something interesting happened when I saw my first cardboard box of records in a market abroad.  If I am honest, I always found trawling through record shops in Britain slightly…well, boring.  I either never had enough money to afford the records I wanted, or I didn’t know what I wanted and was too intimidated by record shop assistants to ask.  When I was with someone who could spend literally hours looking through record store racks, I found I could investigate the neatly laid out categorised genres for a certain amount of time but, honestly, I was bored and would usually have to skip off somewhere else until they were finished.  Actually, this may be where my slight obsession with shoes came from, but I digress… But, being abroad, the sun on my face and a warm breeze blowing in off the sea, somehow being faced with a box of 7″ singles changed my outlook.  When I started doing this, I had no idea what I was looking for, or what the titles meant, or who the artists were.  European singles from the 60s and 70s tend to have picture covers, so maybe that was what interested me. I became transformed!  I could look through a whole box of singles, no problem!  I would choose something to buy based on nothing more than the look of the person or people on the front cover!  The fact that you could often get these singles very cheaply helped, so taking a risk on an artist you had never heard of was not such a huge deal.  I had found my record-buying mojo!  Record shopping became part of my holiday plan.  I would research shops and flea markets before I left home, printing out addresses and train timetables, checking opening hours so as to avoid a wasted trip to a back street Aladdin’s cave of vinyl.

Then, getting home, unpacking, and having a record-listening session became the new end of my holidays fun task.  Sometimes, a super golden nugget of a record was found.  Often, slightly derivative songs were the norm.  Occasionally, a total oddity just blew me away.  It was always enjoyable though, exploring the slightly scratchy vinyl, trying to work out what they were singing about.

The internet has transformed this experience, and the wonderful people and record labels who share this hobby and make compilations or create informative websites have helped no end.  I have to admit, I have found there can be a selfishness with certain people who collect records. That ‘Oh, you haven’t got that record?’ attitude. I think it’s better to share music I care about. After all, what is the point of owning a load of vinyl that no one else ever hears?  Back in the day I enjoyed making compilation tapes.  Now, I have a blog.  The modern way of sharing.

Once, in a women’s magazine, I read one of those ‘useful’ tips in a feature on holidays. You know the kind of thing – how to organise a capsule wardrobe and pack it in your handbag and look like a supermodel when you get off the plane.  Anyway, the advice was to buy a particular perfume to take on holiday with you.  Different holiday, new perfume.  That way, when you were back at home, and it got cold and wintry, you could spray that perfume and it would immediately take you back to your holiday in sunnier climes.  Well, I just listen to the records I have accumulated.  Does the trick every time…

2 thoughts on “SO, WHY THE INTEREST IN FOREIGN MUSIC?

  1. Steve says:

    When I’m on holiday, I often ask a local if they can recommend a band who might be playing live while I’m there and I usually come back with a bag stuffed with records by current bands. There’s a shop in Iceland where their eyes light up every time I come in!

    Your comment about British shops being laid out in categorised genres caught my eye – not sure if you meant this makes it easier or harder for you to browse. This is what I said on the topic recently:
    http://rebellious-jukebox.blogspot.co.uk/2015/01/call-it-what-you-want.html

    (Another gratuitous plug for my own blog 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

    • djesperanto says:

      I often find that British record shops are quite tricky to manoeuvre around. Genres, and the placement of bands within those genres, are often quite personal and this becomes most apparent in those lovely, small, independent records shops. Personally, I have a dislike of the categorisation of music and art which stems from particular experiences while studying Fine Art at college (a long, Post-Modern story…). However, it can be useful if, like me, you find a record shop is a place where you can go on a voyage of discovery. I might like a particular band, who are placed near a band I have never heard of. My interest in that ‘new’ band is then piqued.
      In reference to 7″ singles in foreign markets, the whole fun of rooting through a box is what I enjoy. I have a slightly un-record-collector attitude to records without covers, or those that are a little dusty and scratchy. Doesn’t bother me. If I like something enough and it really is of unbearably low quality to persist with I will get it on CD when I get home if I can.
      Also, I always found that in British record shops, there are usually too many people in the ‘cool’ sections, which is probably why I own a fair amount of folk / soul / foreign language records!

      Like

Leave a Reply

